Blackbeard’s Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu: Do they give justice to the all-time favorite boodle fight?

When someone mentions the words “boodle fight,” food is not the first thing that comes out on my mind.

First, it would remind me about being thirsty then being soaked in the sun for hours, and being tested to my limits.

Why does “boodle fight” remind me of such things?

It was in senior year high school when I ate my very first “boodle fight” together with my fellow officer-aspirants during our Citizens Army Training Officers summer bootcamp.

If you’ll ask me the fourth thing that comes to my mind when I hear “boodle fight,” I’d say, “It’s like a breath of fresh air!”

Why?

As trainees for CAT Officer, we would start our day very early, do countless exercises, receive many punishments, and master countless drills.

By 10 AM, I would already feel very thirsty and hungry.

When lunchtime comes, I am always delighted to see a large banana leaf filled with lots of rice and viand.

It filled my hungry tummy!

Somehow, you could say it gave me a natural high!

Of all the things we had to eat during the training, having a boodle fight for lunch was my favorite!

Unfortunately, it only happened twice or thrice but it was a good experience anyway.

Let’s fast forward to 2014.

You might have noticed Blackbeard’s Seafood Island when Ayala Center Cebu expansion area was opened sometime in December 2013.

You may have noticed too that since it’s opening, it’s filled with lots of people almost every night.

Why do people flock to Blackbeard’s Seafood Island anyway?

It’s because of their boodle fight.

They even have a more awesome name for it.

They call it the sumptuous “Boodle Feast!”

We all know that by now, numerous restaurants already offer boodle fight in their menu and with this mind, a question popped out of my mind.

“Does Blackbeard’s Seafood Island give justice to the all-time favorite boodle fight?”

Apparently, they do!

I have 3 awesome answers to that question.

1. They innovated the boodle fight.

They reinvented the way Filipinos eat the beloved boodle fight.

When I was still under training to become a CAT officer, our boodle fight consisted of one big banana leaf and all what was inside our lunch boxes.

We all know that ain’t the best way to enjoy boodle fight, don’t we?

Some of my classmates even had dish-washing soap in their lunch boxes and let me tell you, it ain’t fun when you feed yourself a soapy lunch!

I’d rather eat nothing than eat your lunch mixed with a little soap! (feeling nauseated and rolling my eyes)

With Blackbeard’s Seafood Island, one’s boodle fight experience is enhanced with their wide array of Filipino cuisine all placed in a boodle tray lined with banana leaf.

They even have very catchy names for their boodle feasts.

Before you start even start attacking the feast, wash your hands.

Boodle feasts are best eaten with bare hands!

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Breakfast Boodle

Breakfast Boodle

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Davao Gulf

Davao Gulf

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Chang's China Chow

Chang’s China Chow

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Mt. Apo Boodle

Mt. Apo Boodle

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Tali Beach Boodle

Tali Beach Boodle

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Dapitan's Pride

Dapitan’s Pride

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Mt. Apo Boodle

Mt. Apo Boodle

2. They take seafood bonding to the extreme.

Blackbeard’s Seafood Island doesn’t just offer “Seafood, Sarap, Saya” for nothing.

They have aquariums that contain live fish and crabs!

You can have them cooked after choosing them from the tanks!

Did I mention to you that I love eating crabs?

Did I mention to you that when my Uncle Femio prepared loads of crabs for a summer fiesta, I started eating dinner around 6 PM and ended around 9 PM. (LOL)

Guess what I was eating the whole time.

I was eating “isang balde ng crabs!

No kidding!

Imagine my delight when I saw Blackbeard’s Seafood Island crab dishes!

They have Crab Lilian, Szechuan crab, Crab Maritess, and so much more!

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Raymund's Salt & Pepper Crab

Raymund’s Salt & Pepper Crab

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Crab Maritess

Crab Maritess

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Crab Lilian

Crab Lilian

3. They can deliver boodle fight right to your doorstep!

Very soon this month, Blackbeard’s Seafood Island can deliver your favorite boodle feast within the boundaries of Cebu City!

Yes!

If you get a craving for seafood, just give them a call and they’ll deliver!

Another good news!

Today will be the opening of their second Cebu branch in Rainforest Park in Mabolo, Cebu.

Make sure to check them out.

Their second branch will be their biggest branch in Cebu by far.

Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu Delivery Number

Photo courtesy of BSICebu

So when you feel hungry, you know who to call.

Cebu Blogging Community meets Blackbeard's Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu

Sir Miguel De La Rosa of Blackbeard’s Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu meets the bloggers of Cebu. (Photo courtesy of Mr. De La Rosa)

So far, my favorite boodle feast in Blackbeard’s Seafood Island is Davao Gulf.

How about you?

Comment your favorite boodle feast and share to us your wonderful experience!

33 thoughts on “Blackbeard’s Seafood Island Restaurant Cebu: Do they give justice to the all-time favorite boodle fight?

  1. Here in Manila we often order the Tali Beach boodle. They also have a Boracay boodle if I’m not mistaken because we already ordered that as well.

    Like

  2. Whoa I haven’t eaten a lot of crabs like a bundle plenty! Those seafood all looked delicious and fresh. Eating boodle fight way is fun especially when you’re with your family. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love having boodle feast with friends and course family. The last one we had was in Seafood island, And because we love seafood, we can’t get enough hehe. Seeing your pictures makes me hungry.

    Like

  4. I love boodle fight…. I have to be honest that the first time we went to Seafood Island at ATC Alabang, we were very disappointed with the service and the food. But that was years ago, maybe I have to try a different branch next time.

    Like

  5. Oh ang tagal ko ng hindi nakakapag boodle. The Raymund’s Salt & Pepper Crab looks yummy!!!

    Like

  6. When it comes to boodle, Blackbeard’s Seafood Island is also our go to place.

    Like

  7. Those boodle feast made me hungry this morning! Haha! I haven’t tried them yet but hopefully one of family occasions soon.

    Like

  8. Boodle fight reminds me of my first experience in High School too during Intrams. We were told to bring all the food that we can but we weren’t given the reason for it. And thank goodness our batch was the lazy batch, no one ever bothered and we just brought our normal lunch boxes. On the day, the boodle fight contest was held and all the food we brought should be presented to the table. Haha! Imagine the other batches brought LOTS AND LOTS of food! In the end we won! HAHA! And seeing these photos made me crave for a boodle fight!

    Like

  9. Same her Chan! My first boodle fight experience was way back during training for CAT officers! It mostly consisted of sardines and because that’s what most of us would bring! Hahaha!

    I am loving Blackbeard’s boodle presentation!

    Like

  10. I got really hungry after seeing the photos! Anyway, thank you for this informative post! 🙂

    Like

  11. amused and amazed to see soup and sisig served in a boodle fight menu

    Like

  12. now i am definitely hungry just looking at those pictures! great post. might visit this place soon.

    Like

  13. Boodle Fight always gives me a unique meal experience! And it’s always a sumptuous meal experience! 🙂

    Like

  14. Oh, I love seafood! When Gian and I visited their branch in Rainforest Park, we had the whole Tali Beach boodle and Raymund’s Salt & Pepper Crab all to ourselves! We had more than enough to fill our tummy. The boodle concept is fit for family and barkada meals. You enjoy it more that way and yes, with bare hands. 🙂

    Like

  15. I’ve never tried a boodle fight although I would love to! Can I call myself lucky because during my time, we no longer have CAT? LOL. I’d love to have the experience though. Hehe. Seriously, Blackbeard’s boodle feasts look really festive. I love that they don’t just spread the food like waste on the banana leaf. LOL. Very nice presentation. Pampagana! 🙂

    Like

  16. I have the same experience in CAT high school training Chan! In our case however, we were fed with a mixture of all our lunches combined plus a bottle (or maybe two or three?) of flaming hot sauce. Then for a group of 40, there was only 1 500 ml water to be shared. On the other hand, we used to do “great” boodle fights with the family whenever we head on to the beach. I kinda miss that so I’ll probably have to drag my family to Blackbeard’s!

    Like

  17. I can see good food on this post. Love boodle, such a happy food!

    Like

  18. I haven’t tried eating boodle fight style in any of Cebu’s restaurants yet. I know, I am a disgrace to the foodie community. I shall try next week. Who’s with me?!!

    Like

  19. I always find boodle fight a fun way to get my tummy full! The boodle fight innovation of this resto is simply awesome!

    Like

  20. My last boodle fight was with blackbeards too I think 5 months ago.Great for seafood trippin..I’m hungry now..heheh 🙂

    Like

  21. A boodle fight in a restaurant is something new to me! I can showcase my kargador eating habits without shame! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

